LinkedIn is a great way to make new connections.

With over half a billion users on the platform, it is easy to build a network aligned with your interests.

One of the unique features of LinkedIn that makes it so effective is its transparency.

Unlike other social media platforms, LinkedIn notifies its users when someone views their profile.

This means that when you view someone’s profile, they can view your profile as well.

This is how most brands make connections with their clients and one another. 

But what if you want to view someone’s profile anonymously?

Whatever reason it may be, some users prefer to keep their privacy when browsing through profiles on LinkedIn.

Fortunately, there is a feature that stops LinkedIn from telling someone you viewed their profile. 

To activate it, click on ‘Settings & Privacy’ from the menu that appears when you click your profile icon on LinkedIn.

Afterward, click on ‘Edit your public profile.’ 

From there, click on the ‘How others see your profile and networking information.’

Choose ‘Profile viewing options’ afterward. 

There are three options on how you want to appear to others.

 

You can opt to hide just specific profile characteristics when you view someone’s profile.

For pure private browsing, choose ‘Anonymous LinkedIn member.’

This way, when you view someone’s profile, they will not be able to see yours. 

You can also activate this feature on mobile.

Tap on your profile picture in the upper left corner and choose ‘View Profile.’

Tap on the gear icon and select ‘Privacy.’

From there, you can see your profile viewing options. 

However, on mobile, you cannot fine-tune which profile characteristics you want to hide.

Adjusting your settings on a desktop or laptop results is better for those who want to hide more specific attributes. 

While LinkedIn’s private mode can come in handy sometimes, it’s not a good idea to keep it activated for long.

If you choose to browse anonymously, you also won’t be able to see who views your profile.

This limits your ability to make new connections with potential clients who have visited your company page.

This will impede your opportunities for things like generating leads, joining LinkedIn groups, or inviting people to like your page, among others. 

If you have a premium account on LinkedIn, you may be able to get around this limitation.

Premium users still have access to those who viewed their profiles in the last 90 days.

However, it can still be a disadvantage for your business. 

Keeping your page public when you view other profiles is a good practice on LinkedIn.

It opens you up for new possibilities when it comes to expanding your connections.

It also gives you information on the people who view your account.

This data can come in handy when curating your content and sending connection requests to your target audience. 

So while LinkedIn’s private mode can be handy in some situations, it’s not recommended to keep it activated for long.

Use it within short time periods or when scouting your competitors’ profiles.

Otherwise, you’d be placing a major disadvantage on yourself.

YOU WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT HOW TO VIEW A PROFILE IN PRIVATE MODE ON LINKEDIN?

BOOK YOUR 30 MINUTES CONSULTING FOR FREE RIGHT NOW  👇👇👇